The new texting-while-driving legislation which was passed in West Virginia is set to take effect on Friday, June 8, 2012. West Virginia is now the 41st state banning texting-while-driving.
However, the law does not apply just to texting, but also to talking on the cell phone. On June 8 texting or using a hand-held cell phone becomes a secondary offense – meaning that cops are not supposed to pull you over just for that offense, but they can ticket you for that offense if they pull you over for some other reason. On July 1, 2012 it becomes a primary offense.
At this point it is important to make sure new vehicles you buy are equipped with bluetooth hands-free cellular technology. If not, you will want to buy a bluetooth headset if you must talk on your cell phone while driving.
According to an article published by Walstreet 24/7, West Virginia has been ranked as the 8th most dangerous state to drive in:
8. West Virginia
> Average auto fatalities per 100,000: 19.8
> Auto fatalities/year: 359 (18th fewest)
> Lifetime medical costs due to 1-yr, auto accidents: $2,938,686 (18th lowest)
> Lifetime work loss costs due to 1-yr. auto accidents: $289,051,095 (16th lowest)
> Pct. commuters traveling 30 mins. or more: 33.11% (17th highest)
Of the states with the highest auto fatality rates, West Virginia was one of the few with a large percentage of commuters traveling at least 30 minutes to work each day. Between 2007 and 2009, West Virginia averaged 359 auto fatalities each year, or 19.8 per 100,000 people. According to estimates, auto fatalities in one year cost the state $289 million in lost productivity. Of the four policies highlighted by the report, the state has adopted two — mandatory helmets and booster seats — but remains one of only 18 states that does not have a primary seat belt law.
Read more: The Most Dangerous States to Drive In – 24/7 Wall St. http://247wallst.com/2012/05/24/the-most-dangerous-states-to-drive-in/#ixzz1wvT9291L